St. Columba's College Boarding & Day School in Dublin, Ireland

Management of the College

Management of the College

The College is a charitable foundation and overall responsibility for its governance rests with a body of 20 Fellows (governors/trustees, listed  below), presided over by a chairman. The Warden (Headmaster/Chief Executive) and the Bursar (finance and estate) attend meetings of the Fellows to whom they report on all aspects of the College.

The Bursar is secretary to the Fellows. The Fellows meet five times per year. Sub-Committees of the Fellows are all attended by the Warden and Bursar. They are as follows: Finance (10 meetings per year); Buildings (5 times per year); Strategy and Development (termly).

The function and authority of the Warden are defined in the College Statutes which date originally from 1912. The Warden is responsible for the appointment of all staff.

The Board of Management (constituted under the Education Act, 1998 and listed below) is nominated by the Fellows and comprises nine Fellows, the Warden, the Sub-Warden, two elected members of staff, two elected parents and the Chairman of the Parents' Association. The Bursar attends all meetings of the Board of Management and is its secretary.

The Warden, assisted by the Sub-Warden and a senior management team as well as a team of Housemasters and mistresses, is responsible for the management, administration and welfare of the College. The SMT meets five times a year, and there are also regular Conventions (staff meetings) and House Staff Meetings in the course of each term.

The Parents' Association comprises 12 parents who are elected annually by the parent body as a whole. The association seeks to support the College as and how it can. It organises social events designed to bring parents into the school and, sometimes, to raise funds for projects.


  • The Most Revd The Lord Archbishop of Armagh


C.D.S. Shiell, BSc, MSc, FCIS, PGDipEDM

P.F. Myerscough (Chairman of the Board of Management)

G.D. Crampton, MA, BBS

I. Roberts, BA, BAI, CEng, FIEI, FIStructE, FICE

J. Bailey, MA

G. Caldwell, BBS (Chairman)

T. Banotti, MA

M. Gleeson, MA, MSc

The Most Reverend M. Jackson, MA, PhD

J.R.P. Wardell, MA, ACA

R. Johnson

M.H.T. de la Poer Beresford, M.Litt

A.W. McPhail, MA

D.J. Reade

C. Carroll, BA

J. Bulbulia, BA, HDip Psych, Barrister at Law

T. Petch


M. Herbst, MEng.

A.F.F. Cox, BA, HDipEd, MA (Ed Management).




M. Boobbyer, BA, PGCE